The road to Beijing +20 review Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

By Aurore Uwase, YWCA of Rwanda.

I thank God for the blessings of joining the Beijing review process in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia at UN Economic Commission for Africa. As a Beijing baby who is committed to the empowerment of girls and young women, my participation in the review process of the Beijing +20 was so exciting. I am really honoured to have joined the rest of the young women and to be one of the champions. A lot of knowledge was shared, especially when our grandmothers shared with us the history of Beijing platform and actions. I have gained a lot of knowledge that I would not have gained had I not attended this review process; thanks to God, World YWCA and YWCA Rwanda.

Aurore Uwase

Aurore Uwase

As a young woman of 22 years of age from YWCA Rwanda, I was so privileged to attend such a big international conference; it was my first time to be in such big meeting and was selected to be one of the youngest participants under 25 years old. I was very impressed when I was called A BEIJING BABY during the deliberation. My participation gave me a great chance to add my input to the documents that were drafted. Moreover, I was particularly elated when I was interviewed on the experience I had had in the review of the Beijing +20 and my video posted to YouTube, thus I know that many young women will be reached and will learn from that.

Furthermore, it was great to see that young women were involved since women issues are not only older women’s issues, as they cut across all sectors of the female population in Africa, and indeed in the whole world. In light of this, I commend that there is an urgent need to increase the budgets that are allocated to the promotion of gender equality, and am looking forward to see African women advance and prosper in all areas. This will require concerted efforts and commitment. I strongly believe that with concerted efforts and, cooperation from the governments, our targets will be met.

Once again, my greatest gratitude goes to World YWCA and YWCA Rwanda for their support to make my participation in the Beijing +20 review processes happen.

Leave a Reply

