My First Time

Young women

Hyline Simba

My name is Hyline Simba and I am 23 years old. I come from Kisii, which is a county approximately 500km from Nairobi. I am currently studying at the University and I plan to get a Masters degree in Business Administration and Finance by next December.  In my spare time I work for the YWCA of Kenya as a youth coordinator.

I am very excited to write these words because as I type I find myself in Cape Town, South Africa. I am one of the young women selected to participate in ICASA 2013 and am part of a larger World YWCA Delegation comprising of women and young women from Angola, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Namibia, South Africa, Rwanda, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe, all of whom have been doing work on SRHR and on changing religious and cultural attitudes on sexuality and access to services.

Before this trip, I had never left my country. Before this trip I had never been on a plane.I was very nervous and worried about travelling. As I was boarding the plane and saw the pilots, I thought they were policemen coming to get someone on the plane. Thank God Hendrica Okondo was travelling with me, as she assured me that those were the pilots and not policemen. I was also quite terrified when the plane took off and flew high into the sky and above the clouds, and my country was further and further away! Being as this was my first time travelling I was also unsure of what to pack and I even forgot to take my laptop!

I have been here 7 days and have learnt so much!! In the past I could not even think that I could stand, share and tell people anything about sexuality. Today that has changed! I feel strong and empowered, I have a voice and I can say what I know to be the truth – a truth that will offer youth the tools and the knowledge to make safe choices for themselves and for their families. I can’t wait to go back home and share what I have learnt!

I have also learnt about social media and this blog is a further example of what we are doing here. As we learn and share about the different work that people are doing here at ICASA, we are also being equipped with new ways to communicate. This is my first blog and I hope to write many more!
Thank you to the World YWCA and the YWCA of Kenya for their continued support in empowering young women. Thank you for giving me a chance to travel and to learn. I pray this is just the beginning.

One Response

  1. And it is also your wonderful beginning!! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

